top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie Kirwin-Jones

Throwback to Heatworld

Giving my blog a detox, I thought I'd bring this beauty back.


It's been a whole week since I was getting my bag ready for my first day writing for heatworld!!!! (jokes, I was watching last weeks Made In Chelsea again, to you know procrastinate like a pro, obviously, and then I packed my bag cos priorities!)


Anyways. The fact that I worked for heatworld last week is still MEGA BIG news to me, so I thought I would write about it. Not gonna lie, it is mostly me rambling on saying how amazed I was about the whole thing, but hey ho.


This week has been sensational. I literally cannot put it into words, but here goes.


Not only working for one of my favourite magazines,(NA, who am I kidding? - MY FAVOURITE MAGAZINE!!) I have discovered A LOT. I have learned that it is okay to be afraid, and it is more than okay to take risks for yourself too. I am not a city person in the slightest, and this did put me off going for this opportunity as it was going to be one hell of a week, having only got back from holiday a day ago at 4 in the morning with no time to Netflix and chill :( But, deep down, I just knew this was going to be living the absolute dream and I was so ready never mind how scary it seemed.


Back when Aimee first tweeted asking for work experience, I slid into her DMs like no tomorrow. I knew that I needed to at least have a go at it, why let someone else take this opportunity? Lol, that sounds so greedy but it's true, time for some self-loving I reck. I told myself that even if I wasn't picked, it would still be great to say that I had tried to be that 'great student' (we all know those ones in the class) but I was!


Typical me applying for a job without even organising how I would get there.... whoops.

​So, let's rewind to my first day.


​It's 6AM, my alarm has just gone off, and I'm wide awake (because I didn't get ANY sleep, faaaaab.) ready to see if heatworld is how exactly I imagined it to be. Was I going to be a hopeless Andy amongst several Miranda Priestly's?  It was so much more (Miranda is v scary after all.) I was worried about EVERYTHING. What they would be talking about, will I be able to join in? What if I can't be myself around them? From wondering if I'll fit in, to if my outfit (which I changed my mind about 5 times) was good enough,, you can just tell how much I wanted to impress them. But, I couldn't wait to be a part of it all, and luckily enough - I just about survived!!


Yaaaaaaaaaay! That's not sarcastic, DW.


Going into this as a complete and utter underground virgin was never going to be a walk in the park with a whole week ahead of me, but by the end, I knew EXACTLY where I was going. Although, I would be lying if said I was an expert as I did get lost on my way home on my second day because that was just BOUND to happen to me wasn't it?


I'm proud to say that I got there pretty early! Yay! Go me! I could actually figure out where I was going and be on time all at once!! Dad and I got the address up on Google Maps, followed the directions of Siri and we were there. And then the dreaded goodbye was here. HELP ME. Sat on my own (how independent am I?) in a Café Nero across the street to calm my nerves but mostly my hunger as I was staaaarving. A morning latte and a croissant - beautiful and just what I needed to pass the time. Before I knew it, it was 10:15am and I was sat in reception looking out for Aimee in something chic and mini, whilst I, on the other hand, trying to look confident and in the words of Ross Geller I was reassuring myself and repeatedly saying: "I'm FINE"


Note to self: don't worry like that EVER again.


This was it! This is where all the magic happens! I was shown around floor 2 and introduced to the heatworld squad: Ruby, Polly, Ellie, and Carl, who I didn't meet until Wednesday. I sat down in front of a MacBook Air (aaaah, so dreamy <3!!!!!) and we were already chatting about Love Island's Chris and Olivia's latest tantrum. And I had never felt so excited. Oh, and a fire alarm went off just as I got myself settled. No biggy.


They then assigned me to my FIRST article, aaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!. I was asked to research all of the Big Brothers housemates' Snapchat, Twitter and Instagram names for an article,  (with a snappy introduction too). So cool! This actually didn't get published straight away, but as soon as I did that, they asked me to do an explainer on Chad Johnson,  one of the housemates in the CBB house (in case you aren't a fan of the show, neither was I before last week.) And that was my first EVER published piece on the website.  I was in love.

What I loved so much was just how chilled out they all were. When you say you're going to work at a magazine for a week, you expect nothing but STRESS. But, nope, these girls were so calm the whole time and it made me feel wanted and a part of the team. Also, letting a girl with no experience whatsoever write for THEM too?! I was on cloud nine. I was SO HAPPY. What more could you want from a week of work experience? I mean, when Aimee advertised it on Twitter: 'you will be writing celeb stories', I didn't think I would get picked let alone have my work published on the second day. But, NO WAY was I gonna complain.

​Later on, in the week I met Carl, yeah I mentioned him earlier on, remember? Well if you ever get to meet him, he is the nicest boy you will EVER meet. AND to top it off, more of my articles were published yippeeeee!! Yep TOTES amazing. If you said to me a year ago that I would be writing about Caroline Flack's new hairdo or Kem and Chris bringing out a Fitness DVD for heatworld, I'd have laughed in your face. It's actually unreal. I keep saying how unreal it is, but IT IS. From hearing about Polly and Carl going off to film with 2017's Celebs Go Dating cast to listening in on their invitations for future events (Star Wars footwear launches. Yep that's a thing, yep, I know.) in their swamped schedules is A LOT TO TAKE IN mate. So ya know, give me a break, yeah?

In all seriousness though, I never wanted to leave.


​Obviously, there's only so much I can tell you about my time at the famous Heat Towers and trust me I'd love to give you the whole list, but there is a time and a place for that hun! I just want to express how lucky I am to even be looking back and writing about this out-of-this-world time of my life so far, and how bladdy BUZZED I am for my future to come. I'm sure you are all aware of that though.


​Here are my articles! http://lifestyle.one/heat/entertainment/tv-movies/chad-johnson-celebrity-big-brother/http://lifestyle.one/heat/entertainment/tv-movies/anne-robinson-tinder/ http://lifestyle.one/heat/celebrity/news/caroline-flack-hair-bob http://lifestyle.one/heat/entertainment/trending/chris-kem-love-island-dvd/ http://lifestyle.one/heat/entertainment/tv-movies/brandi-glanville-celebrity-big-brother/ http://lifestyle.one/heat/celebrity/news/jemma-lucy-plastic-surgery/ ​http://lifestyle.one/heat/celebrity/news/celebrity-big-brother-snapchat-name-list/


8 views0 comments
bottom of page